A title's content access levels are assigned by the collection that owns the title. When multiple collections own a title (as is the case when an Advantage member and a shared collection both own copies of the same title), each collection can assign its own access level to the title, and end users will only see the access level that applies to their collection. Individual copies of a title within a collection can never have different access levels.

This principle also applies for titles that are shared or moved through Advantage Plus. Read below for more details.

For shared titles:

If an Advantage member shares a title through Advantage Plus, ownership is maintained by the Advantage member, so the Advantage member continues to set the title's access level.

However, if the Advantage member shares a title that the shared collection already owns, the shared collection can also set their own access level for all copies of the title. If the access levels set by the Advantage member and the shared collection are different for the same title, Advantage users will be subject to the Advantage member's access level and other shared collection users will be subject to the shared collection's access level.

For moved titles:

If an Advantage member moves a title through Advantage Plus, ownership is transferred to the shared collection, so the shared collection sets the title's access level.

If the shared collection already owns the title, the moved copies will automatically assume the shared collection's access level for the title. If the shared collection doesn't already own the title, the moved copies will automatically assume the shared collection's default access level.

Last Updated: Apr 12, 2017 04:09PM EDT